About Image Salon

Michael Shandro Testimonial

One of the cornerstones of the Professional Photographers of Canada is the PPOC Annual Image Salon. This juried exhibition showcases the best of the best. Within this Salon Exhibition, you will find the most creative, the newest and most cutting edge, and finest technically executed images produced by our members.

This inspirational collection of images displays the level of excellence Canadian photographers have achieved. Some of the best photographic talent in the world lives and works in Canada, and enters this PPOC image competition in the hopes of being selected for the Salon Exhibition.

Active/Accredited members of PPOC are invited to submit images annually to a juried exhibition.  A group of highly qualified judges, all of whom have obtained their Craftsman of Photographic Arts or Master of Photographic Arts designation, and have been trained as jurors, assemble to review submissions.  These jurors have the monumental task of viewing in excess of 800 images, setting aside any personal bias and judging objectively, to determine those images worthy of being accepted into the Salon Exhibition.  

From those submitted images deemed worthy of inclusion in the final Salon Exhibition, those which stand above the rest are awarded scores of Merit, and the small number which are deemed to be truly exceptional images are awarded the prestigious score of Excellence. Top images from the PPOC image competition move on to the Canadian selection committee for the World Photographic Cup.  It is very prestigious to represent Canada at this international competition and in the inaugural WPC our members secured 12 top ten finishes, including a Gold and a Bronze medal.   

We invite you to browse through the many digital galleries in this section of the website to see the remarkable level of image making talent achieved by our own members of PPOC. Enjoy!


Canadian Imaging and Trade Show - April 16-19, 2016 

  • Registration for New Members is only $225
  • Registration for PPOC Members is $399 until January 17
  • Registration between January 17 - March 14 is $449
  • After March 14 - Regular registration price is $499
  • Check out the conference website for full program details
  • www.conference.ppoc.ca

 

National Image Salon Competition - 2016

  • February 10th. 2016, 5PM EST - Early deadline for submission 
  • February 17, 2016, 5PM EST - Final deadline for submission 
  • Judging - March 4/5, 2016, at Langara College in Vancouver, BC

 

National Image Salon Chair - 2016

     Rima Dickson, MPA
     Phone: 604-761-5178  BC Time Zone
     Email: rima.dickson@live.com

À propos du Salon de l'image

Témoignage de Michael Shandro
* Vidéo disponible en anglais seulement

Une des pierres angulaires de l’association des Photographes professionnels du Canada est le Salon national de l'image, tenu annuellement. Cette exposition-compétition met en valeur le meilleur du meilleur. Dans ce salon, vous prendrez conscience des plus récentes technologies de pointe utilisées par nos membres afin de pousser la créativité à son plus haut niveau.

Cette collection affiche le plus haut niveau d’excellence des photographes canadiens. Certains des meilleurs talents photographiques dans le monde vivent et travaillent au Canada, et soumettent leurs photos pour cette compétition.

Les membres actifs / accrédités de l’association des PPOC peuvent soumettre des photos chaque année à une compétition avec jury. Un groupe de juges hautement qualifiés, qui ont tous obtenu le titre d’Artisan des arts photographiques ou encore Maître des arts photographiques, qui ont été formés en tant que jury, se réunissent pour examiner les soumissions. Ce jury a la tâche monumentale d’analyser plus de 800 photos, mettant de côté tout préjugé personnel afin de juger objectivement et déterminer les photos dignes d'être acceptées au Salon de l’image.

Parmi les photos acceptées au Salon de l’image, celles qui ressortent du lot obtiennent la mention « Mérite » tandis que les photos exceptionnelles obtiennent la mention « Excellence ». Les meilleures photos du Salon de l’image des PPOC seront présentées au comité canadien de sélection pour choisir celles qui représenteront le Canada lors de la coupe mondiale de photographie (Word Photographic Cup – WPC). Représenter le Canada lors de cette compétition internationale est très prestigieux. Lors de la première édition, nos membres ont été parmi les 10 premiers dans 12 catégories et ont remporté une médaille d’or et une médaille de bronze.

Nous vous invitons à parcourir les nombreuses collections de photos numériques dans cette section du site afin de constater le talent remarquable des membres de l’association des PPOC. Profitez-en pleinement!

Le prochain Salon national de l'image sera à l'hiver 2017.